Menu Close

Division of Materials Science and Engineering

The Division of Materials Science and Materials Engineering (MuW) is one of three divisions of the "Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering" at RWTH Aachen University. Materials research and materials development have a long and very successful tradition at the university.

Our division was already founded in 1940. To this day, a research-strong group has developed which operates at an internationally recognised high level. A total of nine institutes deal with the development, production, processing and recycling of metallic and mineral materials.

More at

Institute of Mineral Engineering (GHI)

Lehrstuhlleiter: Glas und Glaskeramik
Prof. Dr. Christian Roos
Lehrstuhlleiter: Keramik und Feuerfeste Werkstoffe
Prof. Dr. Jesus Gonzalez Julian

Department for Industrial Furnaces and Heat Engineering

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Herbert Pfeifer

Lehrstuhl für Informations- und Automatisierungssysteme für die Prozess- und Werkstofftechnik (IAT)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Tobias Kleinert

Chair of Materials Chemistry

Prof. Jochen Schneider Ph. D.

Institute for Physical Metallurgy and Materials Physics

Prof. Dr. Sandra Korte-Kerzel

Steel Institute (IEHK)

Chair Materials Engineering of Metals and Department of Ferrous Metallurgy
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Krupp
Chair of Metallurgy of Iron and Steel
Prof. h. c. (USTB) Dr.-Ing. Dr. h. c. (VSB-TU Ostrava) Dieter Georg Senk
Academic and Research Department Integrity of Materials and Structures
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Münstermann

Institut für Metallhüttenkunde und Elektrometallurgie (IME)

Lehrstuhl für Metallurgische Prozesstechnik und

Prof. Dr. Ing. Dr. h.c. Bernd Friedrich

Institute of Metal Forming (IBF)

Universitätsprofessor Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Hirt
Lehr- und Forschungsgebiet Metallische Verbundwerkstoffe
Universitätsprofessor Dr.-Ing. Hauke Springer

Foundry Institute (GI)

Chair for Foundry Science and Foundry Institute
Prof. Dr.-Ing. A. Bührig-Polaczek
Chair of Corrosion and Corrosion Protection
Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. D. Zander
Chair for Fundamentals of Solidification
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. F. Kargl